• CTMRTTS
  • Posts
  • 1 Bar, 8 Million Views (Breakdown)

1 Bar, 8 Million Views (Breakdown)

How can I take investment advice from a man with artwork made on Canva

As a wise man once said, “How can I take investment advice from a man with artwork made on Canva?”

That one bar on this set has gone from Birmingham to Atlanta, to Columbia to Kazakhstan and beyond. I’m getting messages from everywhere. Since the sunday it started to go viral, a week later its crossed 8M views on the platforms its been shared of, which I’m aware of.

Graphic designers are divided, Canva and Adobe are in the comments section, it’s all mad right now.

I got which asked "Did this bring results in audience growth?". I said I'd update after a week of the song being on all platforms so here we are.

In the week since the original clip went viral;

  • 5.5M views on the instagram video (on my own account)

  • 2M views on the tiktok video (on the radio stations account)

  • 600K views on various posts from other instagram accounts and twitter accounts

(Maybe there's more out there I've missed but this is from what I have seen)

So, did it impact audience growth?

Yes.

I've been grinding the comment sections for multiple hours, on every platform, every day since, replying to every instagram story, message, comment, whatever, so that's really helped make new fans just by interacting with them, a voicenote to say thanks, ask which country they're from, anything to build a relationship.

In terms of audience growth (numbers):

  • Tiktok: The radio station went from around 200 followers to 2100+, my own tiktok has gained maybe 40ish followers, so around 270 total at the time of writing (They posted the clip so it had less carry over)

  • Instagram: I gained 1326 followers putting me around 3968 total at the time of writing (I posted the clip so it had more carry over)

  • Twitter: I gained 8 followers and the original big post was unaware of who I was so there was nothing to tag, I've posted it and its not done much

  • YouTube: I gained 46 subscribers, I posted the clip as a short and the audio also.

Has the new audience effected my catalogue?

Yes.

All videos on Instagram and Tiktok before and prior to the post jumped up around 2.5x views on average.

Spotify streams for my current Top 10 songs on spotify have bumped anywhere from an extra 20 streams to an extra 60 in some cases.

Apple Music is the biggest jump. I average about 4 plays on Apple Music, mostly because my main listener countries are dominated by Spotify, however, the clip made it's way to the USA so over the last week I went from 10 plays in the last 7 days to 741 plays. This also includes going from 1 to 214 shazams, most of which were for the song aswell.

YouTube not really much has changed on those videos as most of the inbound traffic is searching for the song and solely that.

It’s been interesting to see for sure.

You can’t really manufacture virility but you can definitely capitalise on it.

Have I?

IDK, you’ll just have to see in the coming weeks, that’s what I’ve heard anyway 🤷 .

The full song is available on wherever you listen to music now, simply search ‘Mayday - Canva’ and hit me up on @maydaymayo to lmk what you think!