• CTMRTTS
  • Posts
  • Here’s Why I’m Making An Effort To Collaborate More

Here’s Why I’m Making An Effort To Collaborate More

You should to

Collaboration Is Important

Making things is great.

Making things with other people is also great.

So that was one of my huge aims last year and I didn’t get to execute on it as much as I like.

It’s now the numero uno focus for this year, not just in music to.

Why collaborate?

  • Different perspectives on how you may tackle a problem, create something

  • Cohesiveness of having someone share a similar interest or passion

  • Working as part of a team which understands a common goal is often fun

  • Workload is shared between others

  • Win together, lose together

There’s a lot more reasons but this is looking at collaboration as a practice, not music specific.

Gym - I have trained alone majority of the time I’ve been a gym goer. Recently had a session with the mandem and it was a different energy, plan is to do this once a week at least. Different styles, techniques, warmups, whatever. It’s a great feeling.

Travel - Similarly, 95% of my trips are solo. Maybe I go with friends, family, idk but me going to Korea on my own vs going with the bros vs going with family would be 3 completely different trips, each with their own memories.

Music - Making music is fun but when you’re in a session and someone comes up with a lyric, or the producer throws in a sound, or you stumble on a happy accident, its a moment you can’t replicate.

All of the above happy because of collaboration.

The ways I’m talking about here are nuanced to me.

Replace gym/travel/music with your interests and hobbies and just do it with more people then you already do.

How To Collaborate?

Personally I’ve found people don’t like to reach out.

They might see and rate your ting but wouldn’t tell you.

So I reversed engineered it and went to them and I went with value.

Equation: Have value to offer + ask = More collaboration

For example, majority of my future releases for the next few months are collaborations.

The value I gave was I made it as easy for them to make a song with me.

I had the beat made and ready.

I have an engineer to perfect the song.

All they needed to do was the only thing I couldn’t do for them, record their lyrics and send it to me.

Based on me providing the value to them AND make it easy, I’ve probably had like a 95% hit rate on asking for and creating collabs with other people.

I’m also not afraid to ask.

Don’t ask, don’t get.

I’ve reached out to people way above me and people in a similar point on their journey.

Everyones human innit.

Some get back to me, some don’t.

Just keep asking.

I don’t have a conclusion, just a takeaway point of collaboration and collaborating is fun and I’m making an effort to do it more this year.

Try it, never know what will come from it!

Wanna collab on something?

Let me know here

See you next week!