• CTMRTTS
  • Posts
  • You're innovating, you just didn't notice

You're innovating, you just didn't notice

In REAL time

Real time Innovation

There’s a book called ‘How Innovation Works’, I haven’t read it and I’m not going to break it down.

However, I saw a brief explainer and the main takeaway point was enough for me.

Then I applied it too many things and seemed to make sense to write about.

In short the idea is, nobody wakes up and says ‘Today, I will innovate!’.

They just do the work and that becomes the innovation.

So whatever you’re doing, you are innovating, you are adding some additional to the thing you’re involved in but you’re not actively innovating.

Larussell’s ‘Pay What You Want’ model

Larussell is a great recent example.

Taking the $100 Mixtape lesson from Nipsey Hussle, Larussell then innovated by popularising ‘Pay what you think’ service.

Fans can enter a show for £1, pay £1000 for a CD, anything.

Larussell in many podcasts gave his reasoning for why he does this and since has made this a major part of his brand.

Others are now imitating what he does and making it part of their own model.

He did this because he wanted to be the change and in turn, has innovated this PWYW model.

I’m anticipating it to grow in popularity in many industries over the next decade+.

Larussell just doing Larussell things innovated but didn’t wake up and say ‘I’m going to innovate’.

He just did the work. People noticed, they liked and then replicated.

There’s many examples I could give but its your turn.

You’re not waking up after reading this like ‘Yeah let’s innovate’ but you are going to wake up and work on whatever it is and add your own piece to the puzzle.

Be the change you want to see.

Cliche for a reason I guess.

Take a step back

I took a step back and looked at what I’m doing.

Some would say its innovating.

Some wouldn’t.

All I know is, doing the work and completing the mission.

It’ll be fun to look back and see what was or wasn’t innovated, changed, improved upon.

But for now, while I’m in it I’m just gonna keep going, keep working.

You can copy a blueprint, a tutorial, a mentor down to the exact same moves they made and still have different results.

Maybe its time for a shakeup in the community, niche, space you’re in?

Maybe you’re the person to do it and you’ve been doing it all this time just from the work and not realising that you’re changing the game.

Who knows.

Who cares.

Don’t stop though, keep going.

Keep innovating in real time.

Are you innovating on something?

Let me know here

See you next week!